Rookie Lifesaving Programme

The Rookie Lifesaving programme is the junior award scheme of the RLSS UK, primarily aimed at children aged 6 to 12 years old. As a club, we also cater for younger members who cannot swim but are willing to enter the water independently.
Lessons are taught in the small pool and the main pool at Bradford on Avon.

For most children, Rookie Lifesaving Awards will be the first opportunity to explore water safety and alternative safe aquatic play.  The Rookie skills make Rookies aware of how to take better care of themselves, their family and friends and give them the information they need to promote water safety in their day to day activities.

The list of awards to achieve include:
Achievement 1, Achievement 2
Bronze – Stages 1, 2 and 3
Silver – Stages 1, 2 and 3
Gold- Stages 1, 2 and 3

After completion of the Rookie Lifesaving programme, the next challenge is completing the ‘Survive and Save’ programme.

Survive and Save

Survive and Save is the set of RLSS lifesaving qualifications that can be completed by anybody over the age of 12
It consists of three levels; bronze, silver and gold.
Each level has a core award and then up to four specialist modules:

  • medallion
  • sport
  • open-water
  • beach

We will be concentrating on the medallion and sports modules within club time but if time permits during the summer, we will look at the beach module as well.

Once the core award is completed and one of the modules, there is the choice of completing another module at the same level or moving up to the next level and staying with the same module.

Each level covers the areas of:

  • General water safety knowledge
  • Resuscitation and basic first aid
  • Survival and rescue skills.

These awards can be taken as part of a Duke of Edinburgh award – we can give guidance as to which section you can use the award for.